Native Village 
Youth and Education News

October, 2013

American Indian College Fund Names 2013 Blanchard Faculty Members of the Year

The Blanchard Faculty Member of the Year Award recognizes a distinguished faculty member from each tribal college. Sponsored by Kim Blanchard, a trustee with the American Indian College Fund, the winners exemplify a commitment to students, scholarship, teaching, and service to Native communities.

For 2013, 30 tribal colleges nominated a Faculty Member of the Year. Each winner was presented a monetary award and certificate at their tribal college's graduation ceremonies. Two awardees, Jason Schlender and Pansy Goodall, were alumni and past AICF scholarship recipients at their respective colleges.

2013 Blanchard Faculty Members of the Year include:

Tribal College


Academic Area

Aaniiih Nakoda College

Daniel Kinsey

Natural Resources

Bay Mills Community College

Christine Miller


Blackfeet Community College

Cindy Doore

Math/Science Division

Cankdeska Cikana Community College

Eric Rogness

Social Studies

Chief Dull Knife College

George Nightwalker

Native American Studies

College of Menominee Nation

Cody Martin


Diné College

Henry Fowler

Education and Math

Fort Berthold Community College

Pansy Goodall


Fort Peck Community College

Brandi Laubach

English and Literature

Haskell Indian Nations University

Jim Bliven

School of Business

Ilisagvik College

John Howlett

Vocational and Technical Trades

Institute of American Indian Arts

Jessie Ryker Crawford

Museum Studies

Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College

Sally Klaasen

Mathematics; Student Support Services

Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College

Jason Schlender

Native American Studies

Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College

Linda Arndt


Leech Lake Tribal College

Karen Cary

Career and Technical Education

Little Big Horn College

Gerlinda Morrison


Little Priest Tribal College

Carolyn Fiscus

Indigenous Studies

Little Priest Tribal College

Carole Quaas


Navajo Technical College

Jones Lee

Applied Technology

Nebraska Indian Community College

Leland Henke


Northwest Indian College

Steve Pavlik


Oglala Lakota College

Jennifer Rodin


Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College

Bruce Smelser


Salish Kootenai College

Donna Kotyk

Dental Assisting

Sinte Gleska University

Nora Antoine


Sisseton Wahpeton College

Lori Zimprich

Computer Science

Sitting Bull College

Joshua Mattes


Southwestern Indian Polytechnic University

Sheri Redshirt

Vision Care Technology

Stone Child College

Larry Gomoll


Turtle Mountain Community College

Carl Eller

Career and Technical Education/Welding

United Tribes Technical College

Evelyn Orth



The American Indian College Fund is the premier scholarship organization for Native students. Created in 1989, AICF offers scholarships and support for 34 tribal colleges and provides over 4,200 Native students with
scholarships every year.

AICF earned top ratings from independent charity evaluators, including the Better Business Bureau’s Wise Giving Alliance, and four-star ratings from Charity Navigator.


Native Village Home Page

Native Village © Gina Boltz
To receive email notices of Native Village updates, please send your email address to:
To contact us, email


Thank you to ALL the wonderful individuals,  friends, organizations, groups, news services and websites who share or donate their research, work, time and talents to make Native Village possible
In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. section 107, this material is distributed without profit or payment for non-profit research, archival, news, and educational purposes only.
NATIVE VILLAGE website was created for youth, educators, families, and friends who wish to celebrate the rich, diverse cultures of The Americas' First Peoples. We offer readers two monthly publications: NATIVE VILLAGE Youth and Education News and NATIVE VILLAGE Opportunities and Websites.  Each issue shares today's happenings in Indian country. NATIVE VILLAGE also houses website libraries and informational materials to enrich all lives on Turtle Island.
Unless otherwise noted, articles are written in full by the credited author at the credited source link. We are responsible for format changes and additional photos, art, and graphics which boost visual appeal and add dimension to the reading experience. Pictures and graphics not appearing with the original article are either credited on the page or by right-clicking the picture. Some may be free or by sources unknown.
Please contact us with any copyright corrections so we may properly credit the source.
 We are not responsible for changes to outside websites and weblinks. Please notify us if any problems arise.