Native Village 
Youth and Education News

November 1, 2013

2013 "Native American 40 Under 40″
Award winners

The National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development has announced the winners of its 2013 “Native American 40 Under 40″ awards.

This prestigious award recognizes 40 emerging American Indian leaders from across Indian Country. All have shown leadership, initiative, dedication and made significant contributions in business and/or in their community. 

2013 “Native American 40 Under 40″ Honorees

Alexcia Boggs

Ponca Tribe of Nebraska

Allison Binney

Sherwood Valley Band of Pomo

Angela Bunner

Muscogee (Creek) Nation/ Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Bobby Cook

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Brandon Tarbell

St. Regis Mohawk

Brian McDonald


Briannon Fraley

Smith River Rancheria, Tolowa

Candace Begody

Navajo Nation

Christina Darby

Inupiaq, Eskimo, Native Village of Unasleet

Clay Colombe

Rosebud Sioux Tribe / Nez Perce

Courtney Ruark – Thompson

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Crystal Jenson

Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

David Walkingstick

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Dorie Rios

Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi (NHBP)

Elyse Bealer

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Hallie Bissett

Knik Tribe

Hattie Mitchell

Prairie Band Potowatomi

Heather Shotton

Wichita & Affiliated Tribes

Heather Townsend

Zuni (enrolled), San Felipe

Jenna Aguilar

Luiseno-Pauma Band

Jeremy Patterson

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe

John Lewis

Gila River Indian Community

John Teller


Joseph Nayquonabe

Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Indians

Kendra King Bowes


Kristina Woolston

Naknek Tribal Village, Bristol Bay Native Corp.

Lael Echo-Hawk


LaRenda Morgan

Cheyenne Arapaho

Lester Randall

Kickapoo Tribe in Kansas

Michelle Fox

Gros Ventre

Monte Randall

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Nicole Shultz (Walls)

Chickasaw, Seminole & Mississippi Choctaw

Rachel Hernandez

Gilar River Indian Community – Akimel O’Odham

Ryan Redcorn

Osage Nation

Russell Pedro

Laguna Pueblo

Seneca Smith

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Shannon Hulbert

Yurok Tribe

Thomasina Real Bird

Yankton Sioux Tribe

Vincent Knight

Laguna Pueblo

William Nicholson, II

Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

Native Village Home Page

Native Village © Gina Boltz
To receive email notices of Native Village updates, please send your email address to:
To contact us, email


Thank you to ALL the wonderful individuals,  friends, organizations, groups, news services and websites who share or donate their research, work, time and talents to make Native Village possible
In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. section 107, this material is distributed without profit or payment for non-profit research, archival, news, and educational purposes only.
NATIVE VILLAGE website was created for youth, educators, families, and friends who wish to celebrate the rich, diverse cultures of The Americas' First Peoples. We offer readers two monthly publications: NATIVE VILLAGE Youth and Education News and NATIVE VILLAGE Opportunities and Websites.  Each issue shares today's happenings in Indian country. NATIVE VILLAGE also houses website libraries and informational materials to enrich all lives on Turtle Island.
Unless otherwise noted, articles are written in full by the credited author at the credited source link. We are responsible for format changes and additional photos, art, and graphics which boost visual appeal and add dimension to the reading experience. Pictures and graphics not appearing with the original article are either credited on the page or by right-clicking the picture. Some may be free or by sources unknown.
Please contact us with any copyright corrections so we may properly credit the source.
 We are not responsible for changes to outside websites and weblinks. Please notify us if any problems arise.