Native Village
Youth and Education news
Volume 1, November 2011

AFN names award winners at convention
Condensed by Native Village

Alaska:  The Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) is the largest statewide Native organization in Alaska. Nearly 5,000 delegates attended their annual convention held in Anchorage last month.

During the convention, AFN honored Alaskan Native individuals with the following awards:

 Elder of the year:
Chief Paul Williams  
Chief of the Venetie Reservations for 10 years and Second Chief  for 22 years.
Born in Salmon Village near Chalkyitsik, now living in Fort Yukon.
Culture bearer:
Della Mae Cheney
Tlingit and Haida weaver
Originally from Kake, now living in Douglas
Lu Young youth leadership: Teressa  Baldwin
 Founder of Hope4Alaska, a nonprofit focused on suicide prevention.
Born in rural Alaska, now living in Palmer
 Citizen of the year:
 Rosita Worl
 Vice Chairwoman of Sealaska Corp. and President of the Sealaska Heritage Institute.
Parents of the year:
David and Teresa Ulroan
 They raised five children with Cup'ik, western and spiritual values and have helped other couples in marriage preparation.
Living in Chevak.
 Public service:
Gilbert Truitt
 34 years as teacher, basketball coach, athletic director, administrator and principal in his community of Sitka
Born and raised in Sitka
Roger Lang youth leadership: Peter  Squartsoff
 Alutiiq language assistant for the Native Village of Port Lions.
Thomas and Edith Pungalik
He is an avid hunter, she is a traditional sewer, and both teach their skills to others
Living in Noorvik.
Loretta Throop
Southcentral Foundation board member
Originally from Ninilchik, now living in Anchorage
 Eileen Panigeo MacLean education: 
Agatha John-Shields.
 Assistant professor of education leadership; Co-director of the  Consortium of Alaska Native Leadership Engagement and Development at the University of Alaska Anchorage
Originally from Toksook Bay, now living in Anchorage
Small business:
Raymond Michael May 
 Owns Kodiak Island Storage and has  two successful fishing vessels.
Raised in Port Lions
 Glenn Godfrey law enforcement: 
Joseph "Nashalook" Masters
Alaska Commissioner of Public Safety
Della Keats "healing hands": Sarah Smith
Tribal doctor at Southcentral Foundation.
Originally from Old Harbor on Kodiak Island and now lives in Anchorage
Denali award (non native):
John Katz
Outgoing director for the governor's office in Washington, D.C.


Native Village Home Page

Backgrounds: Robert Kaufman Fabrics:

NATIVE VILLAGE website was created for youth, educators, families, and friends who wish to celebrate the rich, diverse cultures of The Americas' First Peoples. We offer readers two monthly publications: NATIVE VILLAGE Youth and Education News and NATIVE VILLAGE Opportunities and Websites.  Each issue shares today's happenings in Indian country.
Native Village is responsible for format changes.
Articles may also include additional photos, art, and graphics which enhance the visual appeal and and adds new dimensions to the articles. Each is free or credited by right-clicking the picture, a page posting, or appears with the original article. 
Our hopes are to make the news as informative, educational, enjoyable as possible.
NATIVE VILLAGE also houses website libraries and learning circles  to enrich all lives on Turtle Island.
Please visit, and sign up for our update: